The BRSCC Alfa Romeo Championship returns to the popular Silverstone International circuit after a break of two and a half years for the penultimate race meeting of the year, bringing a strong entry across all three classes despite which the grid is once again being shared with competitors in the Porsche championship for the second time this season.

Leading the way at the three quarter mark and going for a hat-trick of championships is Tom Hill in his distinctive black and gold liveried 156 who holds a slender 5 point lead from Dave Messenger. Twin Spark lap record holder Dave is this year competing in his power trophy class-leading 156 3.2 GTA and after strong and consistent performances all season is keen to keep the pressure on the current championship leader. 2017 champion Andrew Bourke is a daunting 45 points adrift in third place and short of major problems befalling the leading duo is likely to have to concentrate his efforts on consolidating third ahead of fellow Twin Spark runner Simon Cresswell who has narrowed the gap to 16 points with 4 races to go.

Modified class cars return to the grid this weekend and are headed by second-in-class driver Mervyn Miller in his 156 3 litre. Class leader by just one point Barry McMahon is unable to make the meeting as is third place driver Richard Thurbin. Returning to the fray are George Osborne in his immaculate black 75 3.2 litre, past champion Graham Seager in his familiar and awesome supercharged GTV, Simon McFie, choosing to race his agile and swift Fiat Punto Abarth in the Modified class for the second time this season, and Bryan Shrubb, also making his second appearance in his rapid 33 following his mixed fortunes at Croft. Both George and Graham are capable of breaking into the podium positions this weekend, whilst strong points finishes by Simon and Bryan could put them in the frame for providing a grandstand finish for those positions at the final race meeting.

Joining Dave Messenger in the Power Trophy after missing the last couple of meetings is third placed driver Paul Webster also in a 156 3.2 GTA. Paul is only 4 points adrift of Ben Sharich in the continually improving Mito maintained by Davie Peddie and supported by the Mito Register of the Alfa Romeo Owners Club. In fourth place after a strong outing last time out is the immaculate 155 3 litre of Jamie Thwaites, hoping to repeat his performance this weekend. Andy Inman is lying sixth in class but improving performances on his part as he gets to grips with slick tyres and the Peak Alfa 156 3.2 GTA after his switch from Twin Sparks could well see him edge closer to the podium positions with strong results in the final 4 races. Following the completion of a recent overhaul to the distinctive orange 164, experienced Alfa racer Ron Davidson is also hoping to enter his Power Trophy car for a first outing of the season subject to a satisfactory rolling road test.

In the Twin Sparks, the top three of Tom, Simon and Andrew in their Bianco Motorsports-supported 156s are once again joined by regulars Steve O’Brien and Richard Ford. Steve is back in his 147 and looking to build on his improved performances this season and get close to the competition for a race podium. Richard will be hoping for better results than his recent outings where a succession of mechanical problems has effectively resulted in a challenge for podium honours being only a distant possibility. However, he is capable of putting in a competitive drive in his 156 as is brother James, making his second appearance of the season after his earlier outing at Cadwell Park and once again choosing to compete in his twin spark 156. Another driver to provide strong competition to the leading trio will be Matt Daly in his nimble and distinctive 145 following his excellent performance at Brands Hatch. Making a welcome return to the championship for his first race this season after his last car was written off at Anglesey last year is Kevin Gallagher in his newly built 156.

This time, the Alfas are due to start on the lights whilst the Porsches will follow some ten to twenty seconds later on the flag. We are once again looking forward to some close, competitive and fair racing on one of the most popular circuits on the calendar.


Sign On / Scrutineering
Race 1
Race 2

Garage Plan

Garage 32: Tom Hill, Simon Cresswell, Steve O’Brien, Richard Ford and James Ford.
Garage 33: Andrew Bourke, Ron Davidson, Mervyn & Gary Miller, Kevin Gallagher and Matt Daly.
Garage 34: Paul Webster, Bryan Shrubb, George Osborne, Jamie Thwaites and Dave Messenger.
Garage 35: Graham Seager, Andy Inman, Ben Sharich and Simon McFie.

Download garage plan

Entry List