Class Structure

The Alfa Championship has 3 main classes.

They are Modified (M), Power Trophy (P) and Twin Spark Cup (TS). We also run an Italian invitation class for any cars that want to race but do not meet our regulations.

  • Class Structure


    In the new three class Championship structure, “Modified” will continue the tradition of the old Class A1 and A2, offering a place for some really quick machinery where there is scope for engineering ingenuity and preparation expertise that cannot be exploited in a class that is restricted by strict adherence to standard specifications. This is where you will find the quickest cars in the Alfa Championship with competitors using many different approaches to the same objective – going as quickly as possible! Turbochargers and superchargers are permitted, also sequential gearboxes where specified in the regulations. At one end of the scale there are the light fuel injected 33 16 valves from the old A2 class. At the other, during 2014, the large capacity V6 engined cars which included a GTV6, 156 and 147 all using a 24 valve 3.8 litre version of the famous Alfa power unit, and a supercharged 3.2 litre GTV. In between we had three turbocharged 2 litre 156s – each with a different engine – 16v, ex 155 Q4 and current Giulietta 1750. As can be seen, there is no lack of variety! Cars in the Modified class run on slicks. SuperTurismo cars are not permitted.

  • Class Structure

    Power Trophy

    This is the first time that the Alfa Romeo Championship has opted for a class based on a power to weight ratio formula. The engine, chassis and bodywork rules are virtually identical to “Modified” apart from sequential gearboxes not being allowed. Allowing these freedoms means that competitors have just two criteria to work with – what is the power and what is the weight (including fully kitted driver)? At the moment, the figures provided in the 2015 draft regulations are based, for a petrol engined car, on 220 bhp (at the flywheel) per 1000kg. This means that on a typical rolling road a car delivering 240 bhp at the wheels (or hub) would have to run at a minimum weight of 1225 kg. This would cover a GTV that previously ran in the old class C while a 33 8v producing 175 bhp at the wheels would be permitted a minimum weight of 910kg. Diesel engine cars would run at 200bhp (at the flywheel) per 1000kg. All these figures are provisional at the moment, pending specific power and weight checks early in the year. The Championship organisers take the view that by using a power to weight formula, we shall attract a wide variety of Alfa models and engine sizes from different eras. There may well be cars that previously raced in Classes A1/A2, such as 33 8v and 75 3 litre 12v that were uncompetitive there but will find themselves as potential class winners in 2015 as would a 156 GTA or 3 litre GTV. The cars in the “Power Trophy” should also be capable of being very competitive in races overall. Slick tyres are permitted in the “Power Trophy”.

  • Class Structure

    Twinspark Cup

    The Championship’s third class was re-launched in 2015 as the “Twin Spark Cup”. Essentially, though, it is still the very successful Class E that has been running and growing since it was first established in 2006. The class continues to give competitors the chance to race a car with mechanical components used in production models up to 2010 and to prepare it for racing at a reasonable cost. In particular, this has meant the need to eliminate expensive engine work by restricting all modification from a strictly Standard specification.

    All cars in the “Twin Spark Cup” use the 2 litre 16v in-line four cylinder engine found in the 156, initially the most popular model to use this unit. However, the class is also open to the 145, 146, 147, 155 and GTV thus offering a wide appeal and variety that has characterised the Alfa Championship since it started in 1982. We believe that cars in the “Twin Spark Cup” have a long “shelf life” and that this is important to the amateur racer who does not necessarily wish to build or buy a new car every year. The TS Cup will run on the Yokohama A048 control tyre with a single size specified –190/580R15 N2960. Cars from Class E/TS won the Championship overall in 2010 (156), 2011 (147), 2014 (156) and 2016 (156).